Code Committee

Our Code is the ultimate responsibility of the IMPRESS Board. The Code Committee is composed of experts who are responsible for advising the Board on the Code, and for drafting our guidance on the Code. The Committee was recruited through a fair and open process. 

It includes ex officio members: the Chair of IMPRESS, Walter Merricks, IMPRESS Board members Maire Messenger-Davies –who chairs the Committee–, Iain ChristieEmma Jones, Martin Hickman, Andrea Wills, and the CEO of IMPRESS, Jonathan Heawood.

The other members of the IMPRESS Code Committee are:

Mary FitzgeraldMary Fitzgerald, Editor-in-Chief of openDemocracy. Before joining oD she worked for Avaaz, the global campaigning organisation, and is a former Senior Editor of Prospect Magazine. She has written for the Guardian, Observer, New Statesman and others. She sits on the Board of Trustees for Reprieve, the editorial advisory board of Juncture, IPPR's journal of politics and ideas, and the Impress code committee.


Gavin PhilipsonGavin Phillipson, Professor of Law at Durham University and a visiting scholar at the Universities of Melbourne and the LSE. He is author of Media Freedom under the UK Human Rights Act (2006, OUP) and has written over twenty articles and book chapters on media and free speech issues. His work on privacy has been cited by the highest courts in the UK and overseas and he has spoken on media freedom and other issues at leading Universities around the world in the US, Canada, Hong Kong, Singapore, France and the Netherlands. He was the academic member of the Ministry of Justice Working Group on libel reform and his work in that area was cited extensively by Parliament's Joint Committee on Human Rights.  

Paul WraggDr Paul Wragg, Associate Professor of Law at the University of Leeds. His research speciality is in press regulation and press freedom. He has written extensively about the Leveson inquiry into press culture and its compatibility with the notion of press freedom. His work has been published in leading journals in the UK and abroad. He was recently cited by the Australian Law Reform Commission in its inquiry into Australian privacy law.

Lorna Woods, Professor of Internet Law at the University of Essex. Professor Woods has extensive experience both as a solicitor in media and ICT law, and as an author publishing in the fields of media law and regulation, and of human rights.  She has been involved in numerous studies on media regulation and journalistic freedoms for the European Commission and the Council of Europe. She currently teaches freedom of expression, privacy, EU law and copyright.